The Office of Clinical Affairs is committed to establishing a solid, ongoing relationship between every student and the University through positive communication and assistance with core and elective rotations during the clinical years of osteopathic medicine. The College of Osteopathic Medicine clinical clerkship program is designed to provide students with educational and clinical training in general areas of medicine.  It is organized to permit the greatest degree of educational exposure in practical, clinical environments as a means to develop general knowledge in areas of patient diagnosis and management. Beginning in the third year and extending to graduation, students will receive required and elective clinical experience in hospitals, clinics and medical facilities as approved by the Office of Clinical Affairs.  The location and sequence of all rotations are determined by the Office of Clinical Affairs.  Students are advised that the University’s professional liability insurance is in effect for programs approved by the Office for Clinical Affairs and under supervision of licensed healthcare professionals.

Have a question about clinical rotations, clinical sites, preceptors or clinical affairs in general? Feel free to reach out to the Office of Clinical Affairs with an email to: and a member of the Clinical Affairs team will be happy to respond to your inquiry.

DMU Related Links

Rotation Sites

DMU is proud to offer students hundreds of clinical rotation sites, as well as the following year-long sites across 7 states. While the list of options is subject to change, below are the University’s year-long rotation sites as of January 2018, for the upcoming clinical year.

St. Anthony Regional HospitalCarrollIA
Genesis Quad Cities /Genesis Medical CenterDavenportIA
VA Medical CenterDes MoinesIA
Broadlawns Medical CenterDes MoinesIA
Mercy Medical Center- Des MoinesDes MoinesIA
Unity Point – Des MoinesDes MoinesIA
Fort Dodge Hospital – UnityPointFort DodgeIA
Fort Madison Community HospitalFort MadisonIA
Mercy Medical Center – North Iowa – Mason CityMason CityIA
Allen Hospital – UnityPointWaterlooIA
Great River Medical CenterWest BurlingtonIA
Southwest Chicago CohortChicago AreaIL
Riverside Health CareKankakeeIL
Sanford – BemidjiBemidjiMN
Mayo Clinic Health System in Mankato EastridgeMankatoMN
Ridgeview Medical CenterWaconiaMN
Carris HealthWillmar/MarshallMN
Winona Health ServicesWinonaMN
Sandford - BismarckBismarkND
Sanford - FargoFargoND
San Antonio CohortSan AntonioTX
Aurora GraftonGraftonWI
Aurora OshkoshOshkoshWI
Aurora SheboyganSheboyganWI
Aurora SummitSummitWI
Aurora West AllisWest AllisWI

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top