Office Of The President

President Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D. poses for a photo in front of Des Moines University's campus.

President Angela L. Walker Franklin

Angela L. Walker Franklin, a native of McCormick, South Carolina, is a Phi Beta Kappa and magna cum laude graduate of Furman University. A licensed clinical psychologist, she completed her Ph.D. in clinical psychology at Emory University, followed by a year-long clinical internship at Grady Memorial Hospital.

Dr. Franklin, who became Des Moines University’s 15th president in the spring of 2011, has worked in higher education for more than 25 years. Previously, she was executive vice president and provost at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee, where she oversaw academic and administrative departments. She held a professorship in Meharry’s department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences.

“Our people bring passion and delight to their work in providing important impacts in health sciences education, research and public service.”

The President's Staff

Professional headshot of Joseph Jones, Ph.D., Chief of StaffJoseph Jones, Ph.D.
Chief of Staff
Professional headshot of Christina Henderson, Executive Administrative AssistantChristina Henderson, B.S.
Executive Administrative Assistant

One Day for DMU Rallies Supporters, Raises $237,614 

One Day for DMU, the 24 hour giving campaign for Des Moines University Medicine and Health Sciences, raised $237,614 from 318 donors April 17-18.

DMU President Franklin Receives CASE Chief Executive Leadership Award 

DMU President and CEO Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., received the 2024 Chief Executive Leadership Award for District VI of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

DMU President and CEO Honored by Bankers Trust 

Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., president and CEO of Des Moines University, was honored Feb. 26, 2024, as a “Community Difference Maker” by Bankers Trust at its East Branch’s annual Black History Month celebration. Franklin became DMU’s 15th president in 2011.

DMU President and CEO Receives Distinguished Alumni Award

It’s not surprising that in her illustrious career as an academician, administrator and leader in higher education, Des Moines University President and CEO Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., has been revered and honored by more than one educational institution. Her […]

DMU Receives Community Leadership Award from City of West Des Moines

The City of West Des Moines honored DMU with a Community Leadership Award during the city’s Martin Luther King Jr. Day event Jan. 15, 2024.

DMU’s Top 2023 News Stories: What a Wonderful Year! 

Here’s a look back at Des Moines University’s top news events of 2023. It was a remarkable year in DMU’s history!

The Heavy Lifters

DMU’s new campus steering committee raised its vision from the ground up.

A Bold Vision Made Real

President Angela L. Walker Franklin inspires DMU to dream big.

DMU Receives $1.2M Rebate for Innovative and Sustainable Space 

Des Moines University is fostering a cleaner, more sustainable future by implementing energy-efficient commercial systems in the buildings on its new West Des Moines campus at 8025 Grand Ave. The university moved its 10 graduate medical and health sciences degree […]

Prairie Meadows Becomes Presenting Sponsor of Des Moines University’s Glanton Event 

Event Will Honor Mary and Suku Radia  When Des Moines University celebrates the 20th anniversary of its annual Glanton Event on Nov. 2, 2023, the event’s presenting sponsor will be an organization that’s supported the Glanton Fund since its early […]

DMU Graduates Urged: “Use Your Superpowers”

While the vocalists who perform the national anthem at Des Moines University’s annual Commencement ceremony typically do so as soloists, a singing trio of graduating osteopathic medical students was more fitting for this year’s 123rd Commencement on June 1, 2023. […]

DMU President and CEO to Speak at Tina Talks Event

Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., president and CEO of Des Moines University, will be among the six speakers at the second annual Tina Talks hosted by the West Des Moines, Iowa, Chamber of Commerce. The event will occur on June […]

Speaking Engagements

President Franklin speaks regularly to both the DMU campus and Des Moines communities and organizations on topics ranging from leadership to current health care issues.


January 11, 2024
Speaker | INSPIRE 2024 Event | West Des Moines Chamber of Commerce | West Des Moines Marriott | West Des Moines, Iowa

January 14, 2024
Guest Speaker| The DMU Story From the Ground Up | Urbandale Historic Society | Urbandale Library | Urbandale, Iowa

January 26, 2024
Guest Speaker | The DMU Story From the Ground Up | Edgewater Coffee Series | Edgewater Performing Arts Center | West Des Moines, Iowa

April 16, 2024
Award | 2024 Chief Executive Leadership Award for District VI | Council for Advancement and Support of Education




An Unconventional Journey: An Unlikely Choice

by Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D.

This is a story of perseverance and awakening.

Angela Walker Franklin's journey evolved from self-doubt and trepidation into a purpose-driven life that led her to a college presidency in a most unlikely place. The lessons learned along the way have defined her current approach to leadership and should be inspirational to others who are trying to chart their own path.

Order Your Copy Today

"Now is the Time; Des Moines is the Place: A History of Des Moines University" <br><a href="" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Order your copy today.</a>

Now is The Time; Des Moines is the Place: A History of Des Moines University

by Lee Anderson, PH. D.; Kathy Penningroth

Des Moines University has survived against the odds for more than 100 years and successfully built a legacy of excellence in health sciences education.

Throughout those years, there are stories of virtue, vision and hope, as well as episodes of questioned leadership, meager resources and frayed credibility. DMUs history is intertwined with the history of osteopathic medicine and the development of the health care industry in the United States.

This book covers the years 1898 to 2003, illustrating in each chapter how effective leaders can advance an institution and how committed faculty, loyal students and a generous community can defy the odds against success. 

Order Your Copy Today

Scroll to Top