Section Menu

Student Leadership

Student government

Many of our students were active in their undergraduate institutions. Some were leaders at large public institutions and others at smaller private settings. Regardless of your history, you will have the opportunity to participate and fit in at DMU.

To meet the needs of the various programs, Student Government Associations (SGAs) are organized within each college. Each organization strives to provide an outlet for change, a place to voice issues and concerns, and a central stage for directing college-wide projects.

Each college SGA meets on a regular schedule (usually monthly) to discuss issues and activities that affect and involve students in the college. In addition, each on-campus class elects officers to serve as a voice for class issues.

College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Government Association (COM SGA)

COM SGA is comprised of elected officials representing each class, as well as an overall COM SGA President.  The elected positions include a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Liaison for the first and second year classes, as well as representatives for the Master of Science in Anatomy (MSA) and Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences (MSBS) programs.

College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Student Government Association (IPMSA)

IPMSA is comprised of elected officials representing each class, as well as an overall IPMSA President, President Elect, Secretary, and Parliamentarian.  The elected positions include a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Liaison, and APMSA delegate for the first, second, and third year classes.

College of Health Sciences Student Government Association (CHS SGA)

CHS SGA is comprised of two programs: Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) and Physician Assistant program (PA).  Each program has elected officials representing each class.  CHS SGA also has an overall President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, which represent the college as a whole.  The elected officials for each class include the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Liaison.  DPT has officers for first, second, and third year students, and PA has officers for first and second year students.

Student committee

Council of Presidents

The Council of Presidents is an integrated, collaborative and interdisciplinary student advisory body for Des Moines University and the Office of Student Services for issues and matters affecting the university’s student body.  It is composed of the presidents and vice presidents of all classes and all Student Government Associations on the campus.  The Council meets bi-monthly; one meeting occurs during the noon hour and one meeting occurs in the evening.  During noon hour meetings, University departments and administrators present information from their respective areas to allow for proactive discussions, feedback and leadership assistance to the University to support shared governance.   For more information, please visit the Student Life Council site.