Kevin Klauer, D.O.’92, EJD, FACEP, named aoa ceo

Kevin Klauer, D.O.’92, EJD, FACEP, in May will become chief executive officer of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). The first osteopathic physician to lead AOA operations since 1981, he will have primary responsibility for strategy, operating results, continued organizational growth and advocacy for the osteopathic profession.

“This is a pivotal moment for the osteopathic profession and health care overall, and we are confident in Dr. Klauer’s experience to lead us through a dynamic and evolving landscape,” stated AOA President William Mayo, D.O., in an AOA press release.

Klauer joins the AOA from TeamHealth, a leading clinician services organization, where he most recently served as chief medical officer for hospital-based services, chief risk officer and executive director for the patient safety organization. He also is an assistant clinical professor at Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine and a clinical assistant professor at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine. He is board-certified in emergency medicine and holds an executive juris doctorate from Concord Law School. He is a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) board of directors, where he is also medical editor in chief for ACEP Now. He previously served as ACEP Council speaker and was editor-in-chief for Emergency Physicians Monthly.

“As an osteopathic physician, I am humbled and so very proud to serve the osteopathic profession, the American Osteopathic Association, our current and future members, and all osteopathic physicians and medical students,” Klauer said in the press release. “Advocating for the osteopathic profession is a passion, not a job.”

Prior to his arrival at TeamHealth in January 2015, Klauer spent 15 years with Emergency Medicine Physicians Ltd. (EMP), serving in many capacities. He also served as a board member for the EMP Medical Group and the Physicians Specialty Limited Risk Retention Group. He was recognized by the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians with the 2018 Outstanding Educator of the Year award.

Scroll to Top