DMU alumni continue to lead iowa acofp

Jason Sheffler, D.O.’08, and Shannon Remington, D.O.’07, were elected president and president-elect, respectively, of the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) at the Midwinter Osteopathic Family Practice Conference in January in Des Moines.

Sheffler is a physician at Boone County Hospital. He completed his rotating internship at Michigan State University and his family practice residency at the University of Minnesota. Remington, a primary care provider at the Knoxville Hospital and Clinics, completed her family medicine residency at Mercy Medical Center-Des Moines.

Noreen O’Shea, D.O.’84, FAAFP, was elected to a one-year term on the Iowa Chapter Board. She is an assistant professor of behavioral medicine, medical humanities and ethics at DMU and a family physician in Des Moines.

Continuing to serve on the chapter’s board are Jennifer Olson, D.O.’95, as past president and Joshua Tessier, D.O.’08, as immediate past president. Olson practices at Mercy Clinics Family Medicine in Carlisle. Tessier practices at UnityPoint Clinic Family Medicine and Iowa Lutheran Hospital in Des Moines.

The Iowa Chapter of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, headquartered in Des Moines, is a professional association for osteopathic family medicine physicians in Iowa. Its mission is to promote excellence in the practice and education of osteopathic family physicians and students.

Scroll to Top