Boyd Buser, D.O.’81, FACOFP, awarded new AACOM honor

Boyd Buser, D.O.’81, FACOFP

The annual awards bestowed by the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) include a new one beginning this year: The AACOM Board Chair Special Recognition Award was created to honor individuals who have made an incalculable impact upon osteopathic medical education throughout their many years of service to the AACOM Board of Deans. The inaugural recipient of this esteemed award is Boyd R. Buser, D.O.’81, FACOFP

Dr. Buser is the vice president for health affairs, dean, professor of osteopathic principles and practice, and professor of family medicine at the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM). A fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, Dr. Buser is past president of both the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO). In addition, he is a past chair of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) and was a founding member of the board of directors of the Osteopathic International Alliance.

“Dr. Buser’s service to the AACOM Board of Deans has left a lasting legacy of excellence in osteopathic medical education,” AACOM stated in a press release announcing its 2018 award recipients.

The award recipients were honored at the annual AACOM awards banquet on April 20, held during Educating Leaders 2018, the AACOM annual conference in Washington, DC.

Scroll to Top