Alumni of the Year share passion for DMU, their professions

The 2013 Des Moines University Alumni of the Year have established diverse careers and engaged in a variety of activities, but all three have demonstrated dedication to DMU, their respective professions and their patients.

College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery:
Troy J. Boffeli, D.P.M.’90, FACFAS

T.BoffeliTroy J. Boffeli is a high-achieving physician and surgeon, leader in his profession, clinical faculty member, active researcher and the author of numerous peer-reviewed articles, scientific posters, textbook chapters and educational media.

Boffeli’s many roles include serving as head of the department of foot and ankle surgery/podiatry with HealthPartners Medical Group, a 1,500-physician multispecialty group practice based in Minnesota’s Twin Cities. He also is director of the foot and ankle surgery residency program at Regions Hospital in St. Paul, where he has accepted many CPMS graduates. A frequent presenter at state and national scientific meetings, he holds academic appointments at institutions including CPMS, University of Minnesota Medical School and the Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine. He often teaches courses relating to his multiple podiatric specialties as well as on topics such as leadership and critical thinking.

A diplomate of the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery and fellow of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons (ACFAS) since 1995, Boffeli has served ACFAS and other podiatric organizations in a wide variety of leadership positions. He is current chair of the Council for Journal Management for the Journal of Foot and Ankle Surgery.

Boffeli has received numerous honors and awards for his patient care and professional leadership. They include being named a “top doctor” in foot and ankle surgery by Mpls./St. Paul Magazine six of the seven times the publication included that category. Among his many scholarly accomplishments were taking second and third places in the scientific poster case report competition during the 2013 ACFAS 70th annual scientific conference.

College of Health Sciences:
Traci A. Bush, P.T.’95, D.P.T., OTR/L, D.H.S.

Traci BushChair, program director and associate professor in DMU’s doctor of physical therapy program, Traci A. Bush has served the College of Health Sciences and the University in seemingly countless roles. She teaches courses in other DMU programs and is past manager of the DMU Physical Therapy Clinic.

The lengthy list of DMU committees, councils and organizations she’s served on or led include the University Bylaws Committee; Rank, Promotion and Tenure Committee; and Higher Learning Commission Steering Committee. Past president of the DMU Faculty Organization, she also served on the search committee that selected Angela Walker Franklin, Ph.D., as the University’s 15th and current president.

A DMU employee since 1996, Bush also has been a leader of the committee for the annual CHS golf outing, which has raised thousands of dollars for student scholarships. She served on the committee for the inaugural DMU unified golf event, which occurred May 22 (see previous page). She is a member of the DMU Employee Campaign Committee as well, encouraging fellow employees to support the institution financially.

A member of several scientific, professional and honorary societies in physical therapy, Bush has given numerous presentations at conferences and continuing education programs. She is a current member of the communications committee of the American Academic Council of Physical Therapy Education and past membership chair for the Iowa Physical Therapy Association. The recipient of the DMU Outstanding Teaching Award and Communication and University Service Award, she is known for her professionalism, service orientation and dedication to students and patients.

College of Osteopathic Medicine:
James A. Grekin, D.O.’62, MACOI

James-GrekinA retired physician in the Detroit area, James A. Grekin is immediate past chair of the DMU Board of Trustees, which he has served as a member since 1983. An ardent DMU advocate, he was a key leader in the fundraising effort to move the institution from downtown Des Moines to its current Grand Avenue location. In 2010, Grekin chaired the search committee that selected Angela Walker Franklin, Ph.D., as the University’s 15th and current president. He also has generously supported DMU and hosted and attended numerous DMU alumni events.

Grekin served as president of his class at the College of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery (COMS), now DMU, and was the 1962 Graduate with Distinction. He completed his internship and residency at the now-closed Detroit Osteopathic Hospital and then joined its staff. He also was a founding physician of Bi-County Community Hospital, which was established to educate osteopathic students, interns and residents. He retired in 1997.

“Dr. Jim Grekin has dedicated his professional life to providing excellent care to his patients and service to Des Moines University,” wrote Arthur E. Angove, D.O.’62, his classmate and fellow DMU Board member, in his nomination of Grekin. “He represents an alumnus who has one thing in mind: the well-being of our University.”

Active in osteopathic associations and related practice affiliates at the national, state and local levels, Grekin is a life member of the American Osteopathic Association and the Michigan Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons. He was named an honorary fellow and then master fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Internists. He also served on the board of trustees of Temple Israel in Detroit for 18 years.

Scroll to Top