Alumni lead Iowa’s osteopathic physicians

DMU alumni continue to hold top positions in the Iowa Osteopathic Medical Association (IOMA). At the organization’s annual conference and scientific seminar this spring, elected president, president-elect and vice president, respectively, were Conway Chin, D.O.’92; Tamara Chance, D.O.’95; and Jacqueline Stoken, D.O.’90, FAAPM&R.

Chin is board-certified by the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and the American Osteopathic Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He is medical director of rehabilitation services at Genesis Medical Center in Davenport, IA.

Chance is board-certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians. She is medical director of the emergency department at Boone County Hospital in Boone, IA. She also is an adjunct faculty member at DMU and a staff emergency doctor for Physician Healthcare Services Emergency Physicians.

Stoken is a fellow of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. A member of the DMU Board of Trustees, she is board-certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Rehabilitation Medicine, the American Board of Holistic Medicine and the American Board of Independent Medical Examiners. She is in private practice in Des Moines and is affiliated with three central Iowa hospitals.

DMU alumni who were elected trustees on the IOMA board were Bruce Ricker, D.O.’83, of Mount Ayr; Terri Plundo, D.O. ’92, FACOFP, interim medical director of the DMU Clinic, assistant professor and clerkship director of family medicine; and Stephen Ellestad, D.O.’88, of Altoona.

Other board representatives who were not up for election this year are Michael Thompson, D.O.’02, Pella; Mary Malcom, D.O.’01, DeWitt; and Thomas Snyder, D.O.’78, FACOI, Bettendorf. IOMA board trustees also include immediate past president Timothy Piearson, D.O.’02, of Greenfield and past president Adrian Woolley, D.O.’95, assistant professor in osteopathic medicine at DMU.

IOMA members thanked DMU students Sara O’Meara, D.O.’14, and Akash Shah, D.O.’14, for their service over the past year as ex officio members of the IOMA board. Elected to a one-year term on the board was Dustin McCann, D.O.’10. He is in the second year of his internal medicine residency at Iowa Methodist Medical Center in Des Moines.

The Iowa Osteopathic Medical Association, founded in 1898 and headquartered in Des Moines, represents the approximately 1,000 osteopathic physicians practicing in the state.

Scroll to Top