Des Moines University announces Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., as new university president

Des Moines, IA – Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., will be Des Moines University’s 15th president in the school’s 112-year history, the University’s board of trustees recently announced. A search committee has been working to fill the role since the retirement of Governor Terry Branstad in October 2009.

“We are thrilled to have Dr. Franklin on board and know our students, staff, faculty, graduates and University friends will be impressed with what she brings to the University,” said James Grekin, D.O., board of trustees chair.  “I would like to thank the search committee, which was made up of members of the faculty, staff, board of trustees and community, for conducting an open and transparent evaluation and search.”

Dr. Franklin is currently executive vice president and provost at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn. She oversees academic and administrative departments for three schools within the college as well as other departments. She served as acting president during the summer of 2009 and holds a professorship in the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Meharry.

Dr. Franklin has worked in the higher education field for more than 20 years. Prior to her role at Meharry she held several positions at Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Ga, including vice dean, associate vice president for academic and student affairs, associate dean for student affairs and curriculum, assistant dean for admissions and student affairs, director of counseling services and assistant professor of psychiatry.

She is in her fourth term on the board of trustees for Furman University, a small liberal arts college in Greenville, S.C., and has been an American Council on Education Fellow at Oglethorpe University. She has a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from Emory University in Atlanta, Ga, and is a licensed clinical psychologist.

The search committee announced the final three candidates in October. The other two candidates were Stephen Dengle, M.B.A., current interim president and COO of Des Moines University, and Eugene (Gene) Meyer, M.P.A., commissioner for the Iowa Department of Public Safety.

Dr. Franklin is expected to assume the role in the spring. Interim President Dengle will continue operation until then at which point he will resume his role as chief operating officer.

“We are so thankful to Steve for his impeccable management of the University in this interim and appreciate his hard work and continued dedication to our fine institution,” Dr. Grekin said.


Scroll to Top