DMU CPMS Dean Announcement

Robert Yoho, Dean of the College of Podiatric Medicine and Science at Des Moines University

The long-standing Dean of the College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery, R. Tim Yoho, D.P.M., M.S., FACFAS, has announced he will retire from his post effective May 31, 2021. 

“After 24 years of serving DMU in this capacity, it is time for me to pursue other interests and spend more time with family,” said Dean Yoho. “I have thoroughly enjoyed my many years as dean, working with colleagues in CPMS and across the entire university. I am deeply grateful for the opportunity that allowed me to grow and develop much like DMU has evolved into an exceptional graduate health sciences university. It was all about the students. I am most proud of seeing their successes as podiatric physicians. I believe CPMS is positioned well to grow and continue the tradition of outstanding outcomes. And, with the prospect of the new campus under the leadership of President Franklin, DMU is poised to further advance its mission to improve lives in our global community.”

Dean Yoho joined the faculty of Des Moines University’s College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery in 1993 after seven years of private practice experience in Pennsylvania. He was appointed the college’s associate dean for clinical affairs in 1995 and dean in 1997. He also served as DMU’s vice president for academic administration from 2002 to 2006.

He is a Fellow of the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery and the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons. He served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Podiatric Medicine from 2012 to 2014 and as chair of the Council on Podiatric Medical Education from 2009 to 2011. He is currently a member of the board of directors of the American Association of Colleges of Podiatric Medicine and an ex officio member of both the Iowa Podiatric Medical Society Board of Directors and the Polk County Medical Society Executive Council.

Dean Yoho received his doctor of podiatric medicine degree from the Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine (formerly known as the Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine). He completed his residency at Riverside Hospital in Toledo, OH. He earned his bachelor of science degree from Grove City College and his master of science degree from Duquesne University. 

“Although stepping down as dean, we know he will remain a loyal friend of the DMU community,” said DMU president and CEO, Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D. “Thank you, Dean Yoho, for your many years of consistent service, professionalism and wise counsel. Your impact on DMU will endure.”

A search for the new CPMS Dean is underway.

Scroll to Top