463 graduates to cross the stage at DMU’s 115th Commencement

Des Moines University will grant degrees to 463 graduates at the University’s 115th Commencement Ceremony, on Saturday, May 23, at 10 a.m. at Hy-Vee Hall in the Iowa Events Center, 730 Third Street, Des Moines. The dean from each of the three DMU colleges will present their classes and DMU President Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., will confer degrees.

Continuing a tradition started in 1899, the College of Osteopathic Medicine will award the doctor of osteopathic medicine degree to 208 graduates. The college will also confer the master of science in anatomy and master of science in biomedical sciences degrees to 17 graduates. The College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery will award the doctor of podiatric medicine degree to 51 graduates. The College of Health Sciences will recognize 196 graduates from five programs — doctor of physical therapy, post-professional doctor of physical therapy, master of science in physician assistant studies, master of public health and master of health care administration. Some students earned dual degrees.

Michael T. Olsterholm, Ph.D., M.P.H., will deliver the commencement address. Osterholm is the McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair in Public Health and director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota. He is an international leader on preparedness for an influenza pandemic and on the growing concern regarding the use of biological agents as catastrophic weapons. He has served as a member of the National Science Advisory Board on Biosecurity and the World Economic Forum Working Group on Pandemics and is the author of the New York Times best-selling book, Living Terrors: What America Needs to Know to Survive the Coming Bioterrorist Catastrophe.


Scroll to Top