Des Moines University appoints Ellen Chaffee to Board of Trustees


Ellen Chaffee, Ph.D., of Bismarck, North Dakota, was appointed to the Des Moines University Board of Trustees at the August 24 board meeting.

A senior fellow at the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB), Chaffee provides consulting services for higher education boards. She is the past president of two universities and two national professional associations and has served on and consulted with numerous governing boards as well as national organizations in higher education research, health care, allied health and foundations.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University and works closely with the president to monitor strategic initiatives. Board members are community, civic, business and professional leaders committed to DMU’s mission and vision.

Officers for the University Board of Trustees for 2013-14 are as follows:

  • Chair – Larry Baker, D.O.
  • Chair-Elect – Art Wittmack
  • Treasurer – Jay Christensen, M.H.A.
  • Secretary – Barry Braver, D.O.
  • Immediate Past Chair – James Grekin, D.O.


Scroll to Top