Rites of Passage spark smiles, excitement

COM alumni scholars
Above, COM Golf Benefit committee member Matt Morgan, D.O.’99, a surgeon at Pella Regional Health Center in Pella, IA, joins this year’s recipients of scholarships provided by proceeds from the event. With Morgan at the COM Rite of Passage are Class of 2014 members Meghan Wooster, Abhishek Karwa, Justin Bloomberg, Tomasz Podobinski, Aaron Schenone, Annagreta Bowen, Sarah Ling, Kelsey Berlin, Kaitlyn Joyce and Carl Turner. Not pictured are scholarship recipients Ben Ahrens, Stephanie Athman, Amy Erickson and Mollika Sajady.

The annual Rites of Passage ceremonies of the College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery (CPMS) and College of Osteopathic Medicine (CO M) mark the much-anticipated transition of second-year medical students into the clinical phase of their curriculum. The events also celebrate a wide variety of student accomplishments and service.

Kathie Palmersheim accepts the CPMS Student of the Year Award from Dean R. Tim Yoho, D.P.M., FACFAS, at the CPMS Rite of Passage.

At the April 21 CPMS Rite of Passage, Kathie Palmersheim, D.P.M.’13, received the CPMS Student of the Year Award, and Meredith Ward, D.P.M.’14, received the Basic Surgical Skills Teaching Assistant of the Year Award. Lisa Grant, D.P.M.’14, accepted the Student Club of the Year Award as president of the Podiatric Practice Management and Journal Club.

At the April 24 COM Rite of Passage, numerous students received leadership certificates and “Above and Beyond” Awards for their service to DMU, the community and to the class. Recognized for achievement in the academic disciplines were Class of 2014 members Daniel Long, biochemistry; Catherine Nelson, microbiology; Elizabeth Abbas, anatomy; Caleb Masterson, physiology; and Michael Craddick, pharmacology.

Also recognized at the COM Rite of Passage were recipients of scholarships generated by DMU alumni and friends who participated in the 2011 CO M Golf Benefit. This year, 14 students – the highest number in  the benefit’s history – each received a $5,000 scholarship. Recipients are selected based upon their leadership, volunteer service, professionalism and respect.

Scroll to Top