Des Moines University to award 529 degrees at 112th commencement

Des Moines University will award 529 degrees at its 2012 Commencement Ceremony May 26 at 10 a.m. at Hy-Vee Hall in the Iowa Events Center, 730 Third Street, Des Moines. The dean from each of the three DMU colleges will present their classes and DMU President Angela Walker Franklin, Ph.D., will confer degrees.

Continuing a tradition started in 1899, the College of Osteopathic Medicine will award the doctor of osteopathic medicine degree to 218 graduates. The college will also confer the master of science in anatomy and master of science in biomedical sciences degrees to 13 graduates. The College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery will award the doctor of podiatric medicine degree to 57 graduates. The College of Health Sciences will recognize 241 degrees to graduates from five programs – doctor of physical therapy, post-professional doctor of physical therapy, master of science in physician assistant studies, master of public health and master of health care administration. Some students earned dual degrees.

The commencement speaker, David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D., will be presented with an honorary doctor of science degree. He is director of the Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia, which he established in 2006 to improve public health policy for all Americans. From 1998 to 2001, Satcher was simultaneously the surgeon general of the United States and assistant secretary for health in the Department of Health and Human Services. He has numerous honorary degrees and awards, including top awards from the National Medical Association, the American Medical Association and the American Academy of Family Physicians.


Scroll to Top