Six leaders join DMU Board of Trustees

They’re a diverse group, including leaders in health care, justice and business, but they all share a commitment to the advancement of Des Moines University. They are the six new members of the University’s Board of Trustees.

Susan L. Beck, D.O. ’84, FACOS, is a surgeon with Katzmann Breast Center in Clive and Surgical Affiliates in Des Moines. Former chair of surgery at Des Moines University and currently associate professor, she is president of the medical staff at Mercy Medical Center and a faculty member in its general surgery residency program.

Eric T. Crowell, M.H.A., has been president and chief executive officer of Iowa Health – Des Moines since 2001 and senior vice president of the Iowa Health System since 1999. He is an adjunct faculty member for the DMU College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery and for the University of Iowa health care administration program.

Charles Finch, Jr., D.O. ’94, FACOEP, FACEP, is staff physician in the department of emergency medicine, Scottdale (AZ) Emergency Physicians Ltd., and in pediatric emergency medicine, Maricopa Medical Center. He is an adjunct clinical assistant professor at DMU.

Cherry Renee Hardman, M.B.A., has been senior vice president of human resources at Bankers Trust Col, Des Moines, since 1996. Her many honors and awards include being selected as honoree of the 2008 Glanton Scholarship Dinner.

Victoria L. Herring, J.D., is a Des Moines attorney practicing primarily in civil rights, discrimination and employment law on the state and federal levels. She has extensive administrative law and appellate experience and has served as an expert on the issue of attorney fees in civil rights litigation and on sexual harassment law and practice.

Mary A. Radia, D.O. ’81, is a rheumatologist with Mercy Arthritis and Osteoporosis Center, Des Moines, and an assistant clinical professor at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. After graduating with distinction from DMU’s College of Osteopathic Medicine, she served as a resident in internal medicine at Iowa Methodist Medical Center and then as a rheumatology fellow in the University of Iowa Hospitals internal medicine department.

Eight current members were also recently reappointed to three-year terms. They are as follows:

  • Arthur Angove, D.O.
  • Barry Braver, D.O.
  • Bernard Feldman, D.O.
  • Jon Garnaas
  • Robert Kreamer, D.O. (deceased)
  • Hal Hatchett, D.P.M.
  • Max McKinney, D.O.
  • Steve Morain, Esq.

Officers for 2012-13 are as follows:

  • Chair – James Grekin, D.O.
  • Chair-Elect – Larry Baker, D.O.
  • Vice Chair – Art Wittmack
  • Treasurer – Steve Morain
  • Secretary – Richard Kotz, D.O.
  • Immediate Past Chair – Max McKinney, D.O.


Scroll to Top