The Kendall Reed Rare Book Room at the Des Moines University library contains both the Des Moines University Archives and the University’s historical book collection.
Founded as the S.S. Still College of Osteopathy in 1898, Des Moines University has made remarkable contributions to the history of osteopathic medicine, podiatric medicine, health sciences and the community. The University Archives retains archival and 3-dimensional material that best documents the complete history of the University and its activities, and provides access to the collection to faculty, students, alumni and the community at large.
The University Archives contains images, audio-visual materials, papers, publications and artifacts that interpret the history of Des Moines University. We identify, collect, organize, preserve and make available University records and personal papers of enduring value from faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the University for use by the University community and the general public. The historical book collection consists of books, reprints, and out of print journals which focus on the history of osteopathy, the history of podiatry, the history of medical education in the 19th and early 20th centuries and areas of interest to the University’s founders, specifically, military medicine and surgical anatomy and includes rare and valuable books along with general volumes needing special care to insure their preservation and future usefulness. The Des Moines University historical book collection grew out of donations from the personal libraries of Dr. George A. Still and Dr. Summerfield Saunders Still.
Historical books do not circulate, nor are they available through interlibrary loan. Materials in the historical book collection may be used in the Kendall Reed Rare Book Room which is located in the University Library, on the second floor of the Student Education Center. The room is not staffed, please call 271-1537 to make an appointment.