Jennifer Beaty, Des Moines University Specialty Medicine

Jennifer Beaty, M.D., FACS, FASCRS

Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Student Advancement, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Additional Roles
Interim Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, COM Clinical Affairs
Assistant Professor, Specialty Medicine
Assistant Professor, Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine Program


  • Iowa
  • Nebraska

Current National Committees

  • Vice Chair American College of Surgeons Committee on Resident Education
  • Vice Chair Residency Review Committee, Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • American College of Surgeons, Committee on Education, Lead on Resident Autonomy
  • Residency Review Committee Member, Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, Board Member
  • Association of Program Directors in Colon and Rectal Surgery, Immediate Past President
  • Milestones Committee Member, Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • Core Curriculum Committee, National Curriculum in Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship

Recent Educational Experience

  • Program Director, Creighton University Fellowship in Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • Core Faculty Member, Creighton University General Surgery Program
  • Clerkship Director, Colorectal Surgery M3 rotation, Creighton University
  • GI Unit Lecturer, Creighton University M2 Curriculum
  • Site Director, Colon and Rectal Surgery rotation University of Nebraska Medical Center
  • Clerkship Director, Colorectal Surgery, M3 rotation, UNMC
  • Student Advisor/Mentor Medical Students Creighton University and UNMC

Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship, Creighton University, 2008
General Surgery Residency Iowa Methodist Medical Center, 2006
University of Iowa, M.D. 2001
University of Iowa B.S. in Exercise Science 1997

Re-certified, American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, 2019
Re-certified, American Board of Surgery, 2017
Fellow American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons, 2012
Fellow American College of Surgeons, 2010
Certified, American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, 2009
Certified, American Board of Surgery, 2006

Scroll to Top