David Cain

Home town: Winterset, IA
Undergrad school: Central College in Pella, IA
Age: 26
Class: Doctor of Podiatric Medicine - Class of 2016, Master of Science in Anatomy – Class of 2012


Why did you choose DMU?

Its Midwest location and smaller class size which I have been accustomed to arriving from a private college. I also chose it for the faculty whom I had interacted with while working on a Master’s of Science in Anatomy degree. The time I served as a Teaching Assistant in an excellent Gross Anatomy lab, and lastly for DMU’s recognition as one of the top Podiatry programs.

Were you surprised by anything in the program?

I had a pretty easy transition as I had been around most of the faculty, coursework, and campus for the previous two years. People are often surprised by how easy it is to get in touch with professors or how flexible they are to work with students.

Any advice for prospective students?

Do some research on the programs you are looking are considering attending. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. The student body is always willing to give you a straight answer, so don’t be afraid to ask them about things they may wish their school did differently or aren’t so happy with. You need to have all the information you can gather before making a decision, and you don’t want to be surprised upon arrival.

Extracurricular activities/club involvement at DMU:

I am involved with Intramural Volleyball and play soccer with a group of people on Friday afternoons. During the summer/fall I play on a slow-pitch softball team. Within school I am involved with several of the surgery clubs, sports medicine club, the specific podiatry clubs, and have coached the women’s Malpractice Bowl flag football team as well as played on the men’s team. We get to beat up on a bunch of law students from a nearby school. Other than that I like to get out of town and go hunting or just be outdoors on the family farm.

Career objectives:

I would like to be deeply involved with surgery and get involved with some type of sports medicine. The best would be some connection to a college football program or perhaps even professional sports team. Eventually I would like to be able to come back and help my father run our family farm.