Des Moines University partners with health and hospital systems across Iowa and beyond as members of the DMU Clinical Collaborative, established by the University in 2012. The members of the collaborative desire to mutually support and sustain a collaborative partnership to enhance medical education and emphasize primary care. Collaborative members also share the common vision that a quality education of health science students includes positive clinical training opportunities outside the classroom. In addition, the members view that the education and training of health sciences students at DMU is critical to ensure that health care delivery organizations have access to a robust pool of highly qualified healthcare practitioners to meet the needs of the residents of Iowa for the foreseeable future.


The purposes of the collaborative are as follows:

  • Explore possibilities for new collaborations in support of training clinical students at DMU.
  • Identify comparable learning experiences for all students across all disciplines.
  • Establish a sustainable model for clinical teaching which is consistent and reliable.
  • Coordinate undergraduate medical education clinical clerkships within Member institutions.
  • Foster development of an educational community in Des Moines and surrounding areas committed to excellence in health sciences student education.
  • Develop training resources for preceptors.
  • Assist in meeting the health professions workforce needs for the state of Iowa and Member regions.

Collaborative members meet regularly with DMU President and CEO Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., the deans of the three DMU colleges and other University staff to discuss clinical training needs and opportunities.

Collaborative Members

  • Broadlawns Medical Center
  • Grinnell Regional Medical Center
  • The Iowa Clinic
  • Larkin Community Hospital
  • Mahaska Health Partnership
  • Mercy Medical Center
  • UnityPoint Health Des Moines
  • UnityPoint Health Peoria
  • VA Central Iowa Health Care System