Des Moines University wins Greater Des Moines Partnership’s Inclusion Award

January 23, 2014 —

President Angela L. Walker Franklin accepts the 2014 Inclusion AwardDes Moines University was among the recipients of the 2014 Inclusion Award at the Greater Des Moines Partnership’s 125th Annual Dinner on January 20. The award recognizes organizations that make diversity a priority in attracting and retaining employees; creating an inclusive work environment; marketing and advertising; raising awareness through education and communication about the importance of diversity and inclusion; and supporting diversity in the community. DMU won the award in the medium-sized business category.

A past recipient of the Des Moines Human Rights Business and Industry Award, DMU has a mission, values and strategic plan that emphasize inclusiveness, cultural competency among students and employees and a commitment to community service. The University incorporates aspects of diversity in its curriculum and on-campus events.

The University’s strong and growing global health program offers students, employees and community members multiple opportunities to learn about other cultures as they serve patients in underserved parts of the world. The University also offers a rural medical pathways program designed to increase access to care in rural Iowa as it enlightens participating students on the unique aspects of rural practice.

In addition, the DMU Clinic is home to La Clinica de la Esperanza, a partnership between the University and UnityPoint Health. La Clinica offers primary care services to thousands of Latino immigrants and citizens annually, increasing access, enhancing the patients’ quality of life and reducing health care disparities.

The award ceremony was held on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day to celebrate the diversity and inclusion efforts within the business community. DMU President Angela L. Walker Franklin, Ph.D., accepted the award from Jay Byers, CEO of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, and Robin Jenkins, 2013-14 Chair of the Partnership’s Diversity and Inclusion Council. Franklin is the nation’s first African American woman to serve as president of medical/health sciences university.