2009 CPMS research day winners

March 30, 2009 —

The winners of the 2009 CPMS Research Day poster and case presentations have been announced. Congratulations to everyone who won, and thanks to all who participated in making the event a success.

The winners are:

Student Category:
Ankle joint stiffness in plantar fasciitis subjects versus control
Jonathan Thompson, D.P.M. ’11; Jeremy Tilton, D.P.M. ’09; Matt Wettstein, D.P.M. ’09; Vassilios Vardaxis Ph.D.; Shane McClinton, M.S.P.T.; Bryan Heiderscheit, P.T., Ph.D.

Faculty Category:
A Comparison of Central and Peripheral Bone Density in Diabetic versus Non-diabetic Patient Populations
Robert Yoho, D.P.M., M.S., FACFAS; Jill Frerichs, D.P.M., AACFAS; Vassilios Vardaxis, Ph.D.; Heejeong Jung, D.P.M. ‘09

Case Study Category:
Navicular Stress Fractures in Runners: A Review of Evaluation and Management in Two Competitive Athletes
Shevonne Wells, D.P.M. ’11; Robert Yoho, D.P.M., M.S., FACFAS

Symptomatic Peroneus Quartus with Concomitant Posterior Tibial Tendon Tear: A Case Report
Collin E. Pehde, D.P.M., AACFAS, Timothy D. Howard, D.P.M. ’09; Joshua J. Mann, D.P.M. ’10

Courtney Tompkins has been part of the DMU marketing team since Nov. 2005 and loves promoting a school she believes in so thoroughly. Proud daughter and patient of DMU alumni, Courtney knows, first-hand, that Des Moines University is doing a world of good. A fan of all outdoor festivals, fruity drinks and nearly all edibles, she has a hard time narrowing down her list of favorite places to go and things to do but lists the Iowa State Fair as an all-time fave. She loves her 8-minute commute to DMU from Urbandale, a suburb of Des Moines. She and husband Tyler are owned by three large dogs, Tonka, Tucker and Tank.