DMU announces 2004-05 Faculty Awards

July 11, 2005 —

DMU announces 2004-05 Faculty Awards


(Des Moines, IA) – Des Moines University announced its 2004-05 faculty awards at a reception held Tuesday, July 12. Faculty Awards are awarded to peer-nominated and committee-selected faculty members in recognition of outstanding performance in particular categories. The awards are presented to faculty in celebration of their achievement in teaching, research or service during the previous year.


2004-05 award recipients include:

Outstanding Teacher Award

Daniel Deavers, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology

Rebecca Monsma, M.S.W., instructor, pshychiatry

Outstanding Researcher Award

Andy Brittingham, Ph.D., associate professor, microbilogy

Faculty Service Award

Roberta Wattleworth, D.O., FACOFP, M.P.H., M.H.A., associate professor, family medicine


Faculty president, Dr. Musau Wakabongo, presented the awards. During the reception, Dr. Wattleworth presented Dr. Wakabongo and Shelley Oren, M.S., instructor of pharmacology, with awards in appreciation of their service as 2004-2005 faculty president and secretary/treasurer, respectively.


Courtney Tompkins has been part of the DMU marketing team since Nov. 2005 and loves promoting a school she believes in so thoroughly. Proud daughter and patient of DMU alumni, Courtney knows, first-hand, that Des Moines University is doing a world of good. A fan of all outdoor festivals, fruity drinks and nearly all edibles, she has a hard time narrowing down her list of favorite places to go and things to do but lists the Iowa State Fair as an all-time fave. She loves her 8-minute commute to DMU from Urbandale, a suburb of Des Moines. She and husband Tyler are owned by three large dogs, Tonka, Tucker and Tank.